Try 1 month for 99¢

The Stoughton wrestling team took another major step toward an outstanding finish on Saturday, dominating the action in the WIAA Division 1 individual sectional at Fort Atkinson.

The Vikings qualified all 14 wrestlers for the sectional, and six went on to earn state berths, including four individual champions and two runners-up.

However, three Vikings lost second-place wrestlebacks to miss out on berths in the upcoming state tournament at the Kohl Center, which begins on Thursday.

Stoughton scored 213.5 points to top Elkhorn’s 124 in the team race.

Winning their weight classes for Stoughton were Hunter Lewis (46-4) at 120 pounds; Braden Whitehead (24-1) at 120; defending state champ Tyler Dow (49-1) at 160; and Brooks Empey (29-19) at 182. Advancing with runner-up finishes were Luke Geister-Jones (38-13) at 170 and Aodan Marshall (35-6) at 285.

Sun Prairie’s Drew Scharenbrock (47-0), the defending state champ at 138, won the individual title at 145 with three pins on Saturday. Teammate Mason Smith (36-10) was second at 220.

Watertown crowned three individual champions and had four qualifiers. The winners were Nick Logan (40-6) at 138, Stephen Maule (30-1) at 195 and Matt Brewster (39-4) at 220.

DeForest’s Austin Rauls (42-6) won at 152 pounds, and Janesville Craig’s Keeanu Benton (43-1) won at 285 to become one of the Cougars’ two qualifiers.

Sheboygan South sectional

The Beaver Dam/Wayland co-op took 11th with 22 points and did not qualify any individuals for state. Neenah won with 140 points and six qualifiers.

Division 2

Richland Center sectional

Lodi finished fourth in the team race with 63.5 points and qualified four individuals to state.

The Blue Devils’ lone weight-class champion was Jacob Heyroth (36-2), who won by medical forfeit over Monroe’s Dempzy Foley at 182.

Lodi’s Garrett Moll (36-3) took a 6-3 win over River Valley’s Caleb Radtke (36-11) in a second-place wrestleback at 120. Max Barreau (37-9) was second at 160, and Colton Nicolay (33-14) was third at 132.

River Valley was just one point behind Lodi and had three qualifiers; Monroe sent three to state; Evansville/Albany qualified two and the Belleville co-op, Dodgeville, Edgerton and Wisconsin Dells qualified one wrestler each.

River Valley junior Shane Liegel (45-0) won the title at 170, Zach Licht (43-2) was second at 126 and Radtke was third.

Evansville/Albany junior Branden Lange (41-5) won at 285.

Cedar Grove-Belgium sectional

Jefferson finished fourth and qualified three individuals for state, including 106-pound champion Quintin Gehrmann (45-2). Jake Neff (47-7) wrestled back to take second at 170, and Dean Neff (44-7) took third at 138.

Division 3

Mineral Point sectional

Fennimore qualified eight for state and scored 168.5 points, more than double the total of runner-up Lancaster’s 81.5.

Mineral Point took third and had four state qualifiers.

The Pointers crowned two champs: Logan Schmitz (34-9) won at 138 and Riley Workman (38-6) won at 170. Taking third were Danny Pittz (38-6) at 126 and Caden Carey (33-12) at 132.

Marshall’s Kale Grossman (43-10) took second at 126, Justin Chadwick (49-5) was second at 220 and Dylan Horstmeyer (42-11) was third at 152. Deerfield’s Zach Wilfong (35-10) was third at 113.

Dodgeland sectional

Johnson Creek qualified four wrestlers for state and took sixth in the team standings.

Random Lake won the sectional and had seven qualifiers.

Creek’s Weston Wichman (6-0) took the title at 145 pounds, and the Bluejays got a second place from Seth Roberts (18-2) at 285 and thirds from Tucker Roehl (17-7) at 132 and Lucas Sullivan (35-12) at 195.


Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.