Try 1 month for 99¢

After finishing runner-up at the WIAA state team tournament last season, the Stoughton wrestling team entered Saturday with a chance to make an early-season statement.

For the second straight year, the Vikings took advantage of that opportunity.

Stoughton had seven wrestlers finish unbeaten on its way to a 5-0 record to earn its second consecutive Pieper Duals title at Stoughton High School.

Alexander Wicks at 106 pounds, Hunter Lewis (120), Braeden Whitehead (126), Luke Mechler (132), Gavin Model (138), Cade Spilde (160), Tyler Dow (170) and Luke Geister-Jones (182) each went undefeated for the Vikings.

Evansville’s Nolan Kicmol also won all five of his matches.

Papermaker Invitational

University of Wisconsin commit Drew Scharenbrock of Sun Prairie took first at 145 to win his fourth career title at the 17-team invite to earn tournament MVP honors at Kimberly.

Wyatt Thiel earned a pinfall victory in the championship match at 126 for the Cardinals, who finished fourth as a team.

Reedsburg Invitational

River Valley went 5-0 in dual meets, knocking out Reedsburg 62-18 in the championship match, to earn the title of the eight-team invitational.

Jimmy Jennings (106), Keegan Kjos (113), Hayden Walsh (120), Rowen Wipperfurth (126), Caleb Radtke (132), Zach Licht (138), Shane Liegel (182) and Brock Mahoney (195) each went 5-0 for the Blackhawks.

Campbellsport Invitational

Sam Lorenz at 106, Ty Miller (145) Zachary Marek (160), Ben Statz (170) and Reed Ryan (220) each earned individual championships to help lift Waunakee to the team title of the 11-team invitational.

Early Bird Scramble

Danny Pittz earned Mineral Point’s lone individual title as the Pointers finished second in the 16-team tournament in Watertown.

Middleton’s Kevin Meicher (152) and Beloit Memorial’s Linzell Burks (195) each won their respective weight classes.

Royall Invitational

Wisconsin Dells' Gavin Kingsley pinned West Salem/Bangor’s Adam Rogge in the final at 138 to lead the Chiefs to a second-place finish.

Poynette's Hayden Taylor scored a pinfall win over Madison East's Jesus Martinez in the championship match at 120.

Johnson Creek Classic

Quintin Gehrman (113), Weston Wright (120), Dean Neff (138), Jake Neff (160) and Jose Rios (170) each earned individual titles as Jefferson took home the team championship in the 11-team tournament.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.