Try 1 month for 99¢

Carter Hottmann scored the game-winning goal in the third period Tuesday night, giving the Madison Edgewood boys hockey team a 4-3 victory over Madison Memorial for the Crusaders (5-0-1) against the Spartans (3-3-1).

Parker Lindauer scored two second period goals for Memorial (3-3-1).

Hottmann added a second goal for Edgewood (5-0-1).

Baraboo/Portage 2, McFarland 1

Joe Zemanovic tied the game at 1-1 with 1 minute, 24 seconds remaining in regulation, and then Campbell Koseor scored the game-winning goal 20 seconds into overtime to give the Thunderbirds (2-4) a victory over the Spartans (1-5).

Conor Wilson scored McFarland’s lone goal in the first period.

Verona 9, Madison La Follette/East 0

Mason McCormick scored a goal and added four assists for the Wildcats (4-2-1, 3-1 Big Eight Conference) in the victory over the Lakers (0-6-1, 0-3). Andrew Yeager added two goals for visiting Verona.

Reedsburg co-op 5, Sauk Prairie co-op 2

Jacob Ely and Dylan Brown each scored twice to propel the Cheavers (3-4-0, 1-1-0 Badger North) past the Eagles (7-1-0, 1-1-0).

Camden Desroches scored both of Sauk Prairie’s goals.

Girls hockey

Beloit Memorial 5, Middleton 0

Maggy Henschler scored two second-period goals as the Fury (7-1-2, 3-0 Badger Conference) beat the visiting Lynx (2-6, 1-2). Gwen Parker had 20 saves for Middleton. Cammi Gansher and Anne Runde each scored a second period goal as part of a four goal period for Beloit Memorial.

Stoughton co-op 5, Mauston co-op 2

Sydney Schipper scored two goals in the third period to help the visiting Icebergs (2-5, 1-2 Badger) recover from a 2-0 deficit to defeat the Badger Lightning (0-5, 0-3). Baylee Babcock recorded a goal and an assist for the hosts in the first period.

Sun Prairie 2, Hartland Arrowhead 0

Carson Sheridan and Amanda Bauer scored goals as the Cougars (5-1-1) shut out the Warhawks (2-7) in non-conference play. Emily Nettesheim had 41 saves for Arrowhead. Taylor Thornton was the winning goalie, making 11 saves for Sun Prairie.

Boys swimming

Madison East Triple Dual

Sam Young and Nathan Kim captured victories in two races to help Middleton sweep Sun Prairie and the host Purgolders in a Big Eight Conference triple dual. Forrest Peterson, Nate Lamers, Case Geidl and Archer Parkin each won an individual race for the Cardinals.

Monona Grove 108, Madison Edgewood 60

Seniors Ben McDade and Shane Sackett each won a pair of races to lead the host Silver Eagles over the Crusaders. Eric Storms added a victory in the 100-meter breaststroke and helped Monona Grove win two relays.

McFarland 89, Baraboo 81

Alex Slane won two individual races and swam legs on two winning relays to lift the host Spartans past the Thunderbirds.

Truitt Landolt and Tanner Wilson were also on both of the Spartans’ winning relays and each won individual races. Aidan Lohr captured three events for Baraboo.

Sauk Prairie co-op 129, DeForest 41

Desmon Sachtjen won the 50 and 500 freestyle races and was a member of the winning 200 medley relay as the host Eagles earned victories in 10 of the 11 events to top the Norskies.


Sun Prairie 54, Madison La Follette 28

Mason Smith (220 pounds) and Isaac Tess (285) were two of the five Cardinals to score pin victories to help the hosts defeat the Lancers.

Beloit Memorial 65, Madison East 12

Bradley Butler (113), Marco Olivares (126), Dominick Lindley (145), Tyler Sireci (182), Linzell Burks (195) and Matthew Lindley Jr. (220) each scored pinfall victories to help the host Purple Knights top the Purgolders.

Beloit Turner 56, Brodhead/Juda 18

Jack Sagaitis, Trevien Bivens, Maguire Kurth and Drew Ries each scored a pin to help the Trojans defeat the Cardinals. Brian McCullough and Braden Erb pinned their opponents for Brodhead/Juda.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.