Try 1 month for 99¢

A month ago, the Middleton boys cross country team unseated Madison West as the No. 1 team in the state coaches ranking.

On Saturday, the Cardinals handed the Regents another drubbing — this one in the Big Eight Conference meet.

Appropriately, it was a runaway victory for Middleton. The Cardinals placed four runners in the top five and all five of its scoring runners in the top 10 at Lake Farm Park, tallying 22 points to outdistance defending champion Madison West’s total of 64 points atop the 10-team field.

Junior Caleb Easton led the way for Middleton, winning the 5,000-meter run with a time of 15 minutes, 59 seconds. Junior Michael Madoch was second (16:08), with senior Sam Jaeger taking third (16:13) and sophomore Roman Ystenes fifth (16:18). All four were in before West’s top finisher, senior Daniel Jacobs (seventh, 16:30).

Madison La Follette senior Josh Freitag took third in 16:10, and junior Ash Francis led Sun Prairie to a third-place team finish by taking sixth (16:20).

The top-ranked Sun Prairie girls tallied 25 points, placing four runners in the top six and five in the top 10. But Janesville Craig senior Peyton Sippy led the race, winning a repeat Big Eight individual title in 18:10. Sun Prairie senior Katie Rose Blachowicz was second (18:29), and Cardinals sophomore Autumn Dushack was third (18:47), junior Maddie Thompson fifth (19:09) and freshman Kate Kopotic sixth (19:11).

Madison West took third as a team, led by senior Vivian Hacker in fourth overall (18:48).

Badger South

Stoughton junior Anna Wozniak beat Fort Atkinson freshman Lauren Haas to the tape by two-tenths of a second, winning the individual girls race in 19:58.9 to lead the Vikings to the team championship in Watertown.

Haas finished in 19:59.1 and was followed by sophomore teammate Jenna Lovejoy in third (20:06).

Stoughton placed three other runners in the top nine to total 35 points, with Monona Grove second with 79. Freshman Peighton Nelson led the Silver Eagles (fourth, 20:10).

Monona Grove won the boys team title, placing its five scorers in the top 13 including junior runner-up Reed Anderson (16:38), third-place junior James Giftos (16:38) and fourth-place senior Charlie Ellenbecker (16:41).

Watertown senior William Kitzhaber won the individual championship (16:25) and led the Goslings to a runner-up team finish. Third-place Monroe was led by senior Drake Ingold (fifth, 16:45).

Badger North

The host Baraboo boys scored 69 points to edge runner-up Sauk Prairie’s 77 in the eight-team meet in Baraboo. The individual champion was Beaver Dam junior Cade Ferron (16:46), followed by DeForest junior Jacob Burgener (17:12). Baraboo’s leader was sixth-place senior Silas Patten (17:28).

Waunakee junior Reagan Hoopes won the individual girls race (19:08), finishing 22 seconds ahead of sophomore teammate Emma Bertz, and the Warriors scored 42 points to edge Beaver Dam’s 45 atop the team list.

Capitol North

The Lake Mills girls placed four runners among the top five, led by senior conference champion Kayli Buchli (19:42), to total 23 points atop the six-team field. Freshman Lauren Winslow was second (19:45) and freshman Katelyn Chadwick from team runner-up Poynette third (20:02).

Senior Tanner Maier won the boys race (16:44) to lead Lodi to the team title with 37 points. Runner-up Lakeside Lutheran had the individual second-place finisher in senior Tyler Punzel (17:02).

Capitol South

Deerfield/Cambridge senior Spencer Currie won the individual conference championship (17:04) to lead his co-op to a runner-up finish with 55 points. Wisconsin Heights won with 47 points, led by sophomore individual runner-up Christian Patzka (17:24). New Glarus/Monticello was third behind third-place freshman Conor McCoy (17:42).

Marshall won the girls race with 24 points, led by four of the first six finishers including junior conference champion Claire Huggett (20:47). Kassidy Frame of team runner-up Wisconsin Heights was second (21:01).

South Central

Wisconsin Dells placed its five scorers among the top seven finishers to total 19 points in a dominant conference-meet run. Sophomore Laura Beghin won the individual race (18:53), with senior teammate Taylor Campbell second (19:37).

The Dells boys took fourth in the six-team field, as sophomore Pablito Schulz was third (17:20) and junior Nick Kruschke fourth (17:21).

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

• Results in Scoreboard. B11


Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.