Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association prepares for Hall of Fame Induction

Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association prepares for Hall of Fame Induction


The Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame Induction ceremony is scheduled for Sept. 28 in Wisconsin Dells.

A Hall of Fame open house is scheduled from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Sept. 28 at JustAgame Fieldhouse, 200 La Crosse Street, in Wisconsin Dells.

The ceremony is at the Wilderness Resort’s Glacier Canyon Conference Center, 45 Hillman Road, in Wisconsin Dells. Cocktails are at 4:30 p.m., dinner is at 5:30 p.m. and the Hall of Fame program will follow dinner.

Here is the list of 2019 WBCA Hall of Fame inductees, according to a release from the WBCA:

“Friend” category -- Steve Gauger, Fox Valley Lutheran, and Russ Thomas, Milwaukee.

“Referees” category -- Brad Pressentin, Madison, and Gary Wild, Juneau.

“Girl players” category -- Jennifer (York) Arians, Portage; Tonia Ford, Milwaukee Washington; Leah (Hefte) Kuykendall, McFarland; Deborah Hughes, Monona Grove; Aimee (Tranel) Richard, Cuba City; and Candas Smith, Madison West.

“Boy players” category -- Bill McClintock, Milwaukee West; Tim Moriarty, Appleton West; Bill Pearson, McFarland; Kurt Spychalla, Schofield D.C. Everest; Dennis Sweeney, Madison Edgewood; Jack Ulwelling, Appleton; Nick Van Exel, Kenosha St. Joseph.

“Assistant coach” category -- Gary DePerry, Milwaukee Vincent, and Michael Goodwin, Milwaukee King.

“College coach” category -- Kevin Borseth, UW-Green Bay, and Pat Miller, UW-Whitewater.

“High School coach” category -- Mark Adams, Brookfield Central; Joel Claassen, Milwaukee Pius XI; Jim Gosz, Milwaukee Rufus King; John Leadholm, Cambridge; Bob Maronde, Grafton/Cudahy; Roger Pribbenow, Oregon; James Prochaska, Fennimore; Alan R. Schieve, Slinger; Duane Vike, Holmen.

Tickets are $45 and may be purchased at the WBCA website: or by contacting Joan Petitgoue at 608-778-2524 or email at: or mail at:  Joan Petitgoue, 218 S. Lincoln St., Cuba City WI. 53807.  Joan Petitgoue is the banquet chairwoman. 

Get in the game with our Prep Sports Newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Jon Masson covers high school sports for the Wisconsin State Journal. He has covered a variety of sports — including the Green Bay Packers and Wisconsin men's and women's basketball and volleyball — since he first came to the State Journal in 1999.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Badger Sports

Breaking News