Try 1 month for 99¢

Sun Prairie's Marlon Ruffin tries to get past La Follette's Anthony West, as La Follette takes on Sun Prairie in Wisconsin high school boys basketball on Thursday, 1/11/18, at Sun Prairie High School

Sun Prairie senior guard Marlon Ruffin was named the Big Eight Conference player of the year for boys basketball, according to the team announced Tuesday.

Sun Prairie coach Jeff Boos was named coach of the year after directing the Cardinals to the outright conference crown. Madison Memorial senior forward Elliott Grays was selected as defensive player of the year.

Ruffin led the all-conference first team, which also included Middleton senior forward Brogan Brunker, Madison La Follette junior guard Donneil Gray, Sun Prairie sophomore forward Jalen Johnson and Madison East senior forward Keshawn Justice.

The second team featured Madison Memorial junior forward Nick Caropreso, Madison Memorial junior guard Cade Ellingson, Beloit Memorial senior guard Trayvon Fair, Janesville Craig senior guard Blake McCann and Madison La Follette junior guard Troy Reeves.

The third team included Verona senior guard Bui Clements, Sun Prairie senior guard Taylor Jansen, Janesville Craig senior guard Jacob Ngobi, Sun Prairie senior forward Marty Strey, Madison East sophomore guard Anthony Washington and Madison La Follette senior forward Anthony West.

Honorable-mention recognition went to Janesville Parker senior forward Chris Galvan, Middleton senior forward Alan Roden and Madison West senior guard Keishawn Shanklin.


Jon Masson covers high school sports for the Wisconsin State Journal. He has covered a variety of sports — including the Green Bay Packers and Wisconsin men's and women's basketball and volleyball — since he first came to the State Journal in 1999.