Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
After leading Sun Prairie to a state title, catcher Josh Caron named All-Area Player of the Year

After leading Sun Prairie to a state title, catcher Josh Caron named All-Area Player of the Year

  • 0

All Josh Caron wanted this season was to play a prominent role.

It’s safe to say the Sun Prairie senior catcher/pitcher succeeded. And now, Caron’s list of accomplishments has grown: He has been named the 2021 Wisconsin State Journal All-Area Baseball Player of the Year.

“From the beginning of the season, I wanted to be the guy. I think I did that all season long,” Caron said after Sun Prairie beat Bay Port 11-2 in the WIAA Division 1 state final in Grand Chute. “I’m on top of the world right now.”

Caron led the Cardinals to the state championship after they won the Big Eight Conference title during the regular season and went 29-2, averaging 9.2 runs per game.

The University of Nebraska-bound Caron contributed to that offensive onslaught, hitting .438 with eight home runs, 13 steals, 23 runs scored and 49 RBIs.

“He’s been unbelievable — on the mound, behind the plate, offensively,” Sun Prairie coach Rob Hamilton said.

Caron was named the Division 1 state player of the year by the coaches’ association after earning player of the year honors from the Big Eight.

Although he is mainly known as a catcher, Caron was the closing pitcher in the state final and got the game ball from Hamilton after the clinching victory over Bay Port.

“That was a great team win,” Caron said after the state final. “I couldn’t be more proud of everyone. … It’s definitely cool playing for the Sun Prairie Cardinals. Winning the state championship is the goal from Day One. I’m so happy to be part of a team like that.”

Also considered for the award were sophomore Cal Fisher of Deerfield, senior Mason Kirchberg of DeForest and senior Trace Kirchberg of Columbus.

  • Hamilton was named the All-Area Coach of the Year after his Cardinals scored 10 or more runs in five of six postseason games.

The Cardinals now hold nine WIAA state championships, more than any other school, and competed at state for the seventh time in the last nine tournaments.

Also considered for Coach of the Year honors were Tim Richardson of Madison Memorial and Harold Olson of DeForest.


Get in the game with our Prep Sports Newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Badger Sports

Breaking News