You are the owner of this article.
Spartans 5, Badgers 4, OT: Quick wrapup and three stars from the Wisconsin men's hockey loss at Michigan State

Spartans 5, Badgers 4, OT: Quick wrapup and three stars from the Wisconsin men's hockey loss at Michigan State


EAST LANSING, Mich. — Patrick Khodorenko scored his second goal of the game 2:30 into overtime as Michigan State completed a sweep of the No. 19 University of Wisconsin men's hockey team with a 5-4 victory on Saturday at Munn Ice Arena. The Badgers lost a 3-1 lead in the third period but rallied to tie with Wyatt Kalynuk's extra-attacker goal with 20.2 seconds left in regulation.

Three stars

No. 3: Mitchell Lewandowski scored twice for the Spartans, including the go-ahead goal in the third.

No. 2: Cole Caufield recorded his first multiple-goal game since opening the season with three straight.

No. 1: Khodorenko had two goals and an assist.

Up next

The Badgers play an exhibition game against the U.S. Under-18 Team on Jan. 1 in Plymouth, Michigan.


After a 3-0 loss to Michigan State on Friday, the University of Wisconsin men's hockey team has made a bevy of changes to its lineup for Saturday's rematch at Munn Ice Arena (6 p.m., no TV, BTN Plus subscription stream, 1070 AM).

All four forward lines have changed, although the 19th-ranked Badgers teased the top combination of Sean Dhooghe, Alex Turcotte and Cole Caufield in the third period Friday.

Michigan native Jack Berry will start in place of Daniel Lebedeff in goal, and defenseman Jesper Peltonen will play instead of Josh Ess.

Saturday's game is the Badgers' last of 2019 and its final regular-season game until Jan. 10. UW will try to avoid spending that break in last place in the Big Ten Conference.

Badgers (7-9-1, 2-6-1-1 Big Ten)


Sean Dhooghe - Alex Turcotte - Cole Caufield

Linus Weissbach - Dylan Holloway - Ryder Donovan

Tarek Baker - Ty Pelton-Byce - Roman Ahcan

Jack Gorniak - Dominick Mersch - Owen Lindmark

Brock Caufield


Wyatt Kalynuk - Ty Emberson

K'Andre Miller - Mike Vorlicky

Jesper Peltonen - Tyler Inamoto


Jack Berry

Daniel Lebedeff

Johan Blomquist

Spartans (7-7-1, 5-3-1-0)


Mitchell Lewandowski - Patrick Khodorenko - Sam Saliba

Jagger Joshua - Josh Nodler - Logan Lambdin

Gianluca Esteves - Tommy Apap - Brody Stevens

Wojciech Stachowiak - Adam Goodsir - Nicolas Muller

Jake Smith


Jerad Rosburg - Dennis Cesana

Cole Krygier - Christian Krygier

Butrus Ghafari - Tommy Miller


John Lethemon

Drew DeRidder

Spencer Wright


Referees: Brett DesRosiers and Colin Kronforst

Linesmen: Joseph Hutek and Samuel Shikowsky



Subscribe to our BadgerBeat email!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Badger Sports

Breaking News