You are the owner of this article.
Badgers 3, Wolverines 2: Quick wrapup and three stars from the Wisconsin men's hockey win against Michigan

Badgers 3, Wolverines 2: Quick wrapup and three stars from the Wisconsin men's hockey win against Michigan


K'Andre Miller broke a tie with 6:41 remaining, and the 19th-ranked University of Wisconsin men's hockey team rallied from a two-goal deficit for a 3-2 victory over Michigan on Saturday at the Kohl Center. Dylan Holloway and Wyatt Kalynuk scored in the second period for the Badgers, who improved to 6-0-2 in their last eight home games against the Wolverines.

Three stars

No. 3: Kalynuk brought the teams even in the second period with a solo effort.

No. 2: Ty Pelton-Byce had a pair of assists in his return after a four-game absence.

No. 1: Miller got a fortunate bounce off the skate of Michigan defenseman Keaton Pehrson, but it counted.

Up next

The Badgers and the Wolverines close the series at 4 p.m. Sunday.


Given their recent trends, the 19th-ranked University of Wisconsin men's hockey team and Michigan should be prepared for some extra work when they open a Big Ten Conference series at the Kohl Center on Saturday (7 p.m., FSW+, Fox Sports Go, 1070 AM).

All four games the teams played against each other last season went to overtime. Both games in Ann Arbor last November ended in ties; the Wolverines earned the extra point with a 3-on-3 win after the first and the Badgers won a shootout the next night. UW won both games at the Kohl Center last season in overtime on goals by Sean Dhooghe and Linus Weissbach.

The Badgers also played overtime in their last home game, a 5-4 loss to Notre Dame on Nov. 16. Michigan lost in overtime at New Hampshire last Saturday.

The Wolverines don't have leading scorer Johnny Beecher in the lineup.

Badgers (6-7-1, 1-4-1-1 Big Ten)


Roman Ahcan - Alex Turcotte - Sean Dhooghe

Linus Weissbach - Dylan Holloway - Cole Caufield

Tarek Baker - Ty Pelton-Byce - Owen Lindmark

Max Zimmer - Mick Messner - Ryder Donovan

Dominick Mersch


Wyatt Kalynuk - Ty Emberson

K'Andre Miller - Mike Vorlicky

Tyler Inamoto - Josh Ess


Daniel Lebedeff

Jack Berry

Johan Blomquist

Wolverines (4-8-2, 0-5-1-0)


Jake Slaker - Jimmy Lambert - Will Lockwood

Michael Pastujov - Nick Pastujov - Jack Becker

Emil Ă–hrwall - Garrett Van Wyhe - Nolan Moyle

Dakota Raabe - Luke Morgan - Eric Ciccolini

Jacob Hayhurst


Cam York - Luke Martin

Griffin Luce - Nick Blankenburg

Jack Summers - Keaton Pehrson


Hayden Lavigne

Strauss Mann

Jack Leavy


Referees: David Marcotte, Barry Pochmara

Linesmen: Johnathon Morrison, Bill Hancock



Subscribe to our BadgerBeat email!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Badger Sports

Breaking News