EAST LANSING, Mich. — The University of Wisconsin men's hockey team outshot Michigan State 54-31 but allowed goals in the first minute of the second and third periods in a 2-2 tie on Saturday at Munn Ice Arena. Max Zimmer scored in a shootout to give the Badgers the extra point in the Big Ten Conference standings after Jack Berry stopped Taro Hirose with the first shot.

Three stars

No. 3: Linus Weissbach had a goal to give the Badgers a second-period lead.

No. 2: Will Johnson scored and had five shots on goal for the Badgers.

No. 1: Drew DeRidder made 52 saves for the Spartans.

Up next

The Badgers host Ohio State at 7 p.m. on Friday and Saturday.


If the pattern continues for the University of Wisconsin men's hockey team on Saturday, it'll have a split of a four-game road swing.

The Badgers finish a series at Michigan State (4:30 p.m., BTN, 1310 AM), looking to answer for a lethargic performance in a 4-1 loss on Friday.

UW is 2-9-2 on Fridays this season but 7-3-1 on Saturdays, leading freshman center Dominick Mersch to lament after Friday's loss: "We can't wait for a game to get into a series. The series starts on Friday. It doesn't start after a tough game on Friday."

The Badgers, who are 1-5-1 in 2019 and 1-2 on the current stretch of road games, are starting Jack Berry in goal. 

Badgers (9-12-4, 5-6-4-1 Big Ten)


Jack Gorniak - Seamus Malone - Will Johnson

Roman Ahcan - Tarek Baker - Sean Dhooghe

Linus Weissbach - Dominick Mersch - Brock Caufield

Max Zimmer - Mick Messner - Matthew Freytag

Jarod Zirbel


You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

Tyler Inamoto - Wyatt Kalynuk

K'Andre Miller - Ty Emberson

Josh Ess - Peter Tischke


Jack Berry

Daniel Lebedeff

Johan Blomquist

Spartans (10-13-4, 6-8-3-2)


Taro Hirose - Patrick Khodorenko - Mitchell Lewandowski

Mitchell Mattson - Sam Saliba - Austin Kamer

Brennan Sanford - Tommy Apap - Brody Stevens

Logan Lambdin - Adam Goodsir - Cody Milan


Jerad Rosburg - Dennis Cesana

Cole Krygier - Zach Osburn

Christian Krygier - Tommy Miller

Butrus Ghafari


Drew DeRidder

John Lethemon

Spencer Wright


Subscribe to our BadgerBeat email!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.