Try 1 month for 99¢

EAST LANSING, Mich. — John Lethemon made 38 saves to shut down the No. 7 University of Wisconsin men's hockey team in Michigan State's 2-0 victory at Munn Ice Arena. The Badgers outshot the Spartans 38-17 but weren't happy with the quality of their chances.

Three stars

No. 3: First-line center Patrick Khodorenko started quick passing plays that led to both Spartans goals.

No. 2: Top-line left wing Taro Hirose got the primary assists on those goals with some nice passes of his own.

No. 1: John Lethemon's road to a second collegiate shutout started with a busy first period.

Up next

The Badgers return home for the next four games, starting with a series against Michigan on Friday and Saturday.


After 107 games, the University of Wisconsin men's hockey team and Michigan State go into Saturday's Big Ten Conference contest (6 p.m., no TV, BTN Plus pay stream, 1070 AM) back where they started 53 years ago.

The Badgers and the Spartans are even in the all-time series (52-52-3) for only the second time since they started playing in 1964. A UW victory on Saturday would be not only an unprecedented sixth straight over Michigan State, it would put the Badgers in the series lead for the first time.

UW will be looking to play more like it did in the first and third periods of Friday's 6-3 victory and less like it did in the second, when the game started to slip away.

There was some doubt on whether Kyle Hayton would get the start in goal again Saturday, but he's listed first on the line chart so it appears that'll be the case. He allowed three goals on 17 shots on Friday.

Badgers (7-4-1, 2-1 Big Ten)


Linus Weissbach - Trent Frederic - Ryan Wagner

Cameron Hughes - Seamus Malone - Will Johnson

Matthew Freytag - Tarek Baker - Sean Dhooghe

Matt Ustaski - Jarod Zirbel - Jason Dhooghe


Peter Tischke - Josh Ess

Wyatt Kalynuk - Jake Linhart

Tim Davison - Tyler Inamoto


Kyle Hayton

Jack Berry

Spartans (4-5, 0-3)


Taro Hirose - Patrick Khodorenko - Mitchell Lewandowski

Logan Lambdin - Sam Saliba - Cody Milan

Brennan Sanford - Tommy Apap - David Keefer

Jake Smith - Austin Kamer - Brody Stevens


Carson Gatt - Tommy Miller

Jerad Rosburg - Mitch Eliot

Anthony Scarsella - Zach Osburn


John Lethemon

Ed Minney

Spencer Wright

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Todd D. Milewski covers Wisconsin Badgers men's hockey and the UW Athletic Department for the Wisconsin State Journal.