Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Badgers 3, Gophers 1: Three stars from the Wisconsin men's hockey victory against No. 1 Minnesota
topical alert

Badgers 3, Gophers 1: Three stars from the Wisconsin men's hockey victory against No. 1 Minnesota

  • 0

Robbie Beydoun made 35 saves as the No. 12 University of Wisconsin men's hockey team handed No. 1 Minnesota its first loss of the season, 3-1 on Saturday at LaBahn Arena. Linus Weissbach, Tarek Baker and Owen Lindmark scored for the Badgers, who defeated the Golden Gophers for a third straight time when Minnesota is ranked No. 1.

Three stars

No. 3: Weissbach got the scoring started not long after he hit the post.

No. 2: Baker had a third-period goal and set up Weissbach's score.

No. 1: Beydoun made several big saves for the Badgers.

Up next

The Badgers and the Gophers close the series at 4 p.m. Sunday.


The first University of Wisconsin men's hockey game of 2021 is a big one: No. 1 Minnesota comes to LaBahn Arena with a 10-0 record to face the 12th-ranked Badgers.

The Gophers have already played since the holiday break, winning home games against Arizona State on Sunday and Monday. UW's last game was Dec. 4.

The Badgers have their full roster available for the first time since the opening series of the season Nov. 13-14, after which Dylan Holloway left for Canada's World Junior Championship camp. He's back with Cole Caufield from the tournament in Edmonton, which ended with Caufield and the U.S. defeating Canada in the gold medal game on Tuesday.

Badgers (5-5, 5-2-0-1 Big Ten)


Linus Weissbach - Ty Pelton-Byce - Cole Caufield

Roman Ahcan - Dylan Holloway - Brock Caufield

Dominick Mersch - Tarek Baker - Sam Stange

Jack Gorniak - Owen Lindmark - Mathieu De St. Phalle / Ryder Donovan


Tyler Inamoto - Ty Emberson

Jesper Peltonen - Anthony Kehrer

Josh Ess - Mike Vorlicky


Robbie Beydoun

Cameron Rowe

Scratches: F Jason Dhooghe, D Shay Donovan, D Luke LaMaster, G Ben Garrity

Golden Gophers (10-0, 8-0 Big Ten)


Jonny Sorenson - Sammy Walker - Brannon McManus

Sampo Ranta - Scott Reedy - Mason Nevers

Blake McLaughlin - Ben Meyers - Bryce Brodzinski

Cullen Munson - Jaxon Nelson - Jack Perbix


Matt Staudacher - Jackson LaCombe

Ryan Johnson - Brock Faber

Ben Brinkman - Mike Koster

Robbie Stucker


Jack LaFontaine

Jared Moe

Justen Close


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Badger Sports

Breaking News