Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Badgers men's basketball senior D'Mitrik Trice named third-team All-Big Ten
topical alert

Badgers men's basketball senior D'Mitrik Trice named third-team All-Big Ten

  • 0
Trice Louisville

UW senior guard D'Mitrik Trice drives to the basket against Louisville's David Johnson during the Badgers' 85-48 win over the Cardinals on Dec. 19.

D’Mitrik Trice was the only member of the University of Wisconsin men’s basketball team to crack the All-Big Ten awards.

The senior point guard was named to the third team by both the media and coaches. Trice is averaging a team-high 13.7 points and 3.9 assists for the Badgers (16-11), who will begin Big Ten tournament play on Thursday night against either Penn State or Nebraska.

University of Wisconsin men's basketball coach Greg Gard didn't hold back when speaking to the media after the 25th-ranked Badgers fell to the 5th-ranked Iowa Hawkeyes 77-73 in their regular-season finale Sunday at Carver-Hawkeye Arena in Iowa City, Iowa.

Iowa senior center Luka Garza was named Big Ten Player of the Year for the second consecutive season.

He was joined on the media’s first team by Illinois junior guard Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois sophomore center Kofi Cockburn, Michigan freshman center Hunter Dickinson and Indiana sophomore forward Trayce Jackson-Davis.

The coaches’ first team included Garza, Dosunmu and Cockburn along with Ohio State sophomore forward E.J. Liddell and Purdue sophomore forward Trevion Williams.

Dickinson was named Freshman of the Year, and Michigan’s Juwan Howard was named Coach of the Year.

The Defensive Player of the Year went to Maryland senior guard Darryl Morsell, while Illinois freshman guard Andre Curbelo was named Sixth Man of the Year.

The All-Defensive team consisted of Morsell, Illinois guard Trent Frazier, Michigan State forward Aaron Henry, Penn State guard Jamari Wheeler and Rutgers center Myles Johnson.

Dickinson was joined on the All-Freshman Team by Curbelo, Iowa’s Keegan Murray and Purdue teammates Zach Edey and Jaden Ivey.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Badger Sports

Breaking News