Try 1 month for 99¢

NEW YORK — The Big Ten announced Thursday morning it will play 20 conference games in men’s basketball and 18 games in women’s basketball starting with the 2018-19 season.

Under the new format, men’s teams will play seven opponents twice and six opponents once. The three in-state rivalries — Indiana/Purdue, Michigan/Michigan State and Illinois/Northwestern — will be played twice annually. The frequency of games between regional rivals will also increase, with those teams playing 10 times over the course of a six-year cycle.

Under the new women’s format, teams will play five opponents twice and eight teams once. A similar model for in-state and regional rivalries also will be implemented.


Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Jim Polzin covers Wisconsin Badgers men's basketball for the Wisconsin State Journal.