Gov. Scott Walker among 42 delegates to RNC

State Republicans release list of all 42 delegates to Republican National Convention.

Former Gov. Tommy Thompson went all in for John Kasich in Wisconsin’s recent presidential primary only to see the Ohio governor come away with no delegates — but that won’t stop Thompson from serving as a delegate at this summer’s Republican National Convention.

Thompson is one of 18 at-large delegates slated to vote for Texas Sen. Ted Cruz in July at the Cleveland convention, the Republican Party of Wisconsin announced Tuesday.

The list also includes Gov. Scott Walker and first lady Tonette Walker, Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch, Attorney General Brad Schimel, Assembly Speaker Robin Vos, Sen. Duey Stroebel (state chairman of Cruz’s campaign) and Rep. Dean Knudson.

Under state GOP rules, the Cruz campaign got to pick the at-large delegates after Cruz won a decisive victory on April 5.

Those delegates are bound to vote for Cruz at the convention unless he gets less than 30 percent of the vote on a ballot.

Other states’ delegates are unbound after the first ballot, which means Wisconsin’s delegation won’t likely factor into any political intrigue if the nominee isn’t decided in the first round.

Another 24 delegates were selected by caucuses in each congressional district.

GOP front-runner Donald Trump picked up six delegates in the 3rd and 7th congressional districts because he won the most votes in those districts and Cruz received the 18 in the other six districts for a total of 36.

Here’s the full list of delegates and alternates released Tuesday by the state party:

At-large delegates: Brad Courtney, state GOP chairman; Steve King, RNC representative; Mary Buestrin, RNC representative; Gov. Scott Walker; first lady Tonette Walker; Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch; state Attorney General Brad Schimel; Tom Schreibel, longtime former aide to U.S. Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner; Bill Johnson, Wisconsin GOP finance chairman; Mike Jones, Wisconsin GOP treasurer; Kim Bliss, director of community development for Hendricks Holding Co.; Assembly Speaker Robin Vos; Michael Grebe, chairman of Walker presidential campaign; state Sen. Duey Stroebel, chairman of Cruz’s state campaign; state Rep. Dean Knudson; former Gov. Tommy G. Thompson; Charlotte Rasmussen, president of Wisconsin Federation of Republican Women; Candee Arndt, Waukesha GOP activist.

Register for more free articles
Stay logged in to skip the surveys

At-large alternates: State Sen. Alberta Darling, co-chairwoman of Joint Finance Committee; Senate President Mary Lazich; state Rep. John Nygren, co-chairman of Joint Finance Committee; Assembly Majority Leader Jim Steineke; state Rep. Tyler August, Assembly Speaker Pro Tempore; former Gov. Scott McCallum; Crystal Berg, founding president of Washington County Republican Women; Katie McCallum, Wisconsin GOP fourth vice-chairwoman; Gerard Randall, chairman of Wisconsin GOP African-American caucus; former U.S. Rep. Mark Green; David Karst, Milwaukee County GOP chairman; Jim Villa, Walker adviser and University of Wisconsin System vice president of university relations; Keith Gilkes, Walker adviser and GOP political strategist; Stephan Thompson, Walker adviser and former Wisconsin GOP executive director; Ginny Marschman, Wisconsin GOP social conservative coalition chairwoman.

1st Congressional District: Delegates: Bryan Steil, Rose Ann Dieck, Bill Jaeck; Alternates: Jonathan Steitz, Bill Folk, Gene Hainault.

2nd Congressional District: Delegates: Scott Grabins, state Sen. Howard Marklein, Roger Stauter; Alternates: David Blaska, Nora Gard, Phil Prange.

3rd Congressional District: Delegates: Brian Westrate, Julian Bradley, Scott Colburn; Alternates: Maripat Krueger, Kathryn Heitman, Charlie Krueger.

4th Congressional District: Delegates: Bob Spindell, Laurie Wolf, Patty Rieman; Alternates: Doug Haag, Andrew Davis, John Savage.

5th Congressional District: Delegates: James Geldrich, Kathy Kiernan, John Macy; Alternates: Keith Best, Grace Degnar, Jim Schildbach.

6th Congressional District: Delegates: Don Zimmer, Rep. Paul Tittl, Jane Katzauer; Alternates: Rohn Bishop, Lillian Nolan, Sridhar Vasudevan.

7th Congressional District: Delegates: Jim Miller, Jesse Garza, Rep. Adam Jarchow; Alternates: Paul Wharton, Lonnie Kennell, Pam Travis.

8th Congressional District: Delegates: Jerome Murphy, Barb Finger, Kelly Ruh; Alternates: Jeff Schoenfeldt, Patti Schick, Tom Schumacher.

Capital W: Plug in to Wisconsin politics

Subscribe to our Politics email!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.