Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Tony Evers names Obama official, two Democratic legislators to Cabinet
breaking topical top story

Tony Evers names Obama official, two Democratic legislators to Cabinet

Peter Barca, Tony Evers

State Rep. Peter Barca, of Kenosha, left, was named by Gov.-elect Tony Evers as secretary of the Department of Revenue at a news conference Thursday in Madison.

Gov.-elect Tony Evers edged closer to completing his Cabinet roster Thursday, naming five secretaries including two Democratic legislators, a former Barack Obama staffer and two members of his inner circle at the state schools agency.

State Rep. Peter Barca, D-Kenosha, a longtime representative, congressman and Assembly minority leader, is Evers’ pick for secretary of the Department of Revenue, which administers the state’s tax laws. Barca previously served in the U.S. House and as a regional administrator of the Small Business Administration under former President Bill Clinton.

Caleb Frostman


Sen. Caleb Frostman, D-Sturgeon Bay, would lead the Department of Workforce Development. Frostman is the former executive director of the Door County Economic Development Corp. He was elected to the Senate in a June special election but lost in November to Republican Rep. Andre Jacque.

In a post that will be key to Evers’ agenda of expanding Medicaid coverage, former Obama Administration staffer Andrea Palm is his pick to lead the Department of Health Services.

Emilie Amundson


Emilie Amundson, of Madison, Evers’ chief of staff as state superintendent, would take over as head of the Department of Children and Families, which focuses on protection and early intervention efforts for Wisconsin children.

Dawn Crim


Dawn Crim, of Fitchburg, an assistant state superintendent under Evers, is his pick to head the Department of Safety and Professional Services, which oversees occupational licenses, among other things. Crim is a former assistant coach for the University of Wisconsin women’s basketball team.

Andrea Palm

Andrea Palm, who previously worked in former President Barack Obama's administration, was named by Gov.-elect Tony Evers on Jan. 3, 2019, to head the Wisconsin Department of Health Services.

All Cabinet members are subject to a majority confirmation vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

Health Services is a state department with a $12 billion annual budget that oversees the state’s Medicaid and other public benefits programs. Evers campaigned on health care as a key issue and said he will prioritize efforts to expand Medicaid in Wisconsin and reinforce federal coverage protections for people with pre-existing health conditions.

Palm brings national experience to the job. Originally from New York state, she most recently served as senior counselor to the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services under former President Obama from 2014 until 2017. Prior to joining the Obama administration, Palm worked for five years as a health policy adviser to then-U.S. Sen. Hillary Clinton.

Tony Evers Cabinet appointments

Gov-elect Tony Evers, second from right, announces five Cabinet positions Thursday. Waiting to be introduced, from left, are state Sen. Caleb Frostman, D-Sturgeon Bay, as secretary of the Department of Workforce Development; state Rep. Peter Barca, D-Kenosha, as secretary of the Department of Revenue; Dawn Crim as secretary of the Department of Safety and Professional Services; Emilie Amundson as secretary of the Department of Children and Families; and Andrea Palm to head the Department of Health Services.

Evers said Monday he hopes to have his full Cabinet appointed by the end of this week.

Evers will be inaugurated Monday, succeeding Gov. Scott Walker.

Previous Evers Cabinet picks include:


  • Joel Brennan

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection:

  • Brad Pfaff


  • Kevin Carr

Financial Institutions:

  • Kathy Koltin Blumenfeld

Insurance Commissioner:

  • Mark Afable

Natural Resources:

  • Preston Cole

Public Service Commission chairwoman:

  • Rebecca Cameron Valcq


  • Sara Meaney


  • Craig Thompson

Veterans Affairs:

  • Mary Kolar

State Journal reporter Riley Vetterkind contributed to this report.

Get Government & Politics updates in your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Badger Sports

Breaking News