Try 1 month for 99¢
Madison West High School

West High School

Madison West High School has more National Merit Scholarship semifinalists than any other high school in Wisconsin, with Madison Memorial High School a close second.

Twenty-six seniors at West were on the list of semi-finalists released Wednesday, while 22 seniors from Memorial were listed.

The next highest number of seniors on the list was 13 from Nicolet High School in Glendale, a Milwaukee suburb.

In all, 100 seniors made the semifinalist list from south-central and southwest Wisconsin. Finalists will be announced in four phases beginning in April 2019 and ending in July.

Semifinalists in Madison include:

Madison West:

  • James Alvin, Doan Anson, Anna Arpaci-Dusseau, Felix Beilin, Erik Buinevicius, Grace Carpenter, Gemma Decetra, Oscar Gnam, James Gray, Spencer Harrison, Carmen Jackson, Haley James, Nathaniel Johnson, Zoe Charlotte Johnson, Ruby Lambert, Jiu Lee, Michael Melio, Langston Nashold, Else Radeloff, Isabel Rameker, Holden Ringle, Zander Rossman, Lily Sandholm, Liam Tsao, Michael Verban, Christopher Waller.

Madison Memorial:

  • Anna Bauer, James Berthoud, Sophie Blumenstein, Sha Frasier, Zion Hefty, Celia Herman, Mary Kaldor, Garrett Kennedy, Morten Lee, Huizhong Li, Megan Li, Beatrice Naujalyte, Samik Partha, Geoffrey Pomraning, Alexa Rademacher, Anusha Sahai, Imaad Said, Noah Sawicki, Michelle Shou, Jeremiah Williams, Amanda Yao, Hannah Zhai.

Madison East:

  • Jack Gillian-Daniel, Maxwell Loetscher, Ella Nowicki, Maximilian Parmaker, Aleksander Rabago, Bailey Richards, Annabel Stattelman-Scanlan.

Madison La Follette:

  • Dija Manly.

Edgewood High School:

  • Delaney Bondoc, Gloria Bushong, Grace Flynn, Julia Hess, Kristin Kiley, Spencer Sheahan.

St. Ambrose Academy:

  • Dmitry Pinchuk.

Other semifinalists in Dane County include:


  • Meghna Datta, Owen Engling, Marcus Knoke, Steven Lawton, Annie Ma, Benjamin Scher, Laura Stewart, David Whittingham, Jason Yang.

Sun Prairie:

  • Luke Breyer, Claire Darmstadter, Randon Foldhazi, Joseph Gammon, Abhinav Janamanchi.


  • Kendra Gering, Genevieve Grade, Samuel Korth, Dane Luebke, Bethany Astor (Madison Country Day School).


  • Anna Brown, Lilly Dye, Ethan Jones.


  • Julie Bull, Marissa Zintel.


  • Ragini Bora, Samuel Mast.


  • Jacob Chambers, Audrey Williams.


  • Isaac Kianovsky.

Mount Horeb:

  • Eliza Lindley.

Semifinalists in south-central and southwest Wisconsin include:


  • Quinn Collins, John Cramer.


  • Kade Muehlenhaupt.


  • Marilla Smith.

New Glarus:

  • Ellawyn Fong.


  • Emma Goldthorpe.

Wisconsin Dells:

  • Tess Jisa.

EDITOR'S NOTE: This story has been updated to correct the spelling of Marcus Knoke's name.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Bill Novak is a general assignment reporter for the Wisconsin State Journal.