Try 1 month for 99¢
Lodi girls win Capitol Conference title

The Lodi girls track and field team shows off its Capitol Conference championship trophy after winning the conference meet on Tuesday at Lakeside Lutheran High School in Lake Mills.

Senior L.O. Johnson made quick work of leading the Waunakee boys track and field team to the Badger North Conference championship on Tuesday night.

The sprinter, who will play football in the fall at the University of New Mexico, won the 100-meter dash in 11.01 seconds and the 200 in 22.59 seconds for the Warriors. He also anchored the winning 400 relay (:43.30).

The Waunakee boys scored 164 points, well ahead of runner-up Reedsburg in the eight-team standings.

Also for Waunakee, Nathan Mais won the triple jump (43-0) and the 3,200 relay won (8:26.55).

Beaver Dam’s Cade Ferron swept the 800 (2:03.16), the 1,600 (4:31.98) and the 3,200 (4:54.43).

Waunakee scored 157.5 points to win the girls meet over Mount Horeb’s score of 127. The standout performer of the meet was Reedsburg senior Brooklyn Schyvinck, who won the 100 (:12.55), 200 (:25.62), 400 (:57.77) and long jump (16-5¾).

Waunakee’s Reagan Hoopes won the 1,600 (5:25.29) and 3,200 (12:03.10), and the Warriors won the 400 and 1,600 relays. Mount Horeb’s Alexa Gabel won the shot put (35-0½) and discus (116-11).

Capitol Conference

The Lodi girls won the team title as three juniors combined to win seven of the eight individual running events at Lakeside Lutheran. The host Warriors edged Lodi for the boys team title.

In the girls meet, Lodi’s Rhianna Walzer won the 100-meter dash (12.86 seconds), the 200 (:26.60) and the 400 (:59.57). Isabelle Clary earned titles in the 800 (2:25.22) and 1,600 (5:19.23), and Mackenzie Heyroth won the 100 hurdles (:15.59), the 300 hurdles (:47.92) and the long jump (17-10).

Lakeside won two relays, senior Amber Rowoldt cleared 36-10 to win the triple jump and junior Abby Buxa won the shot put (34-11½).

In the boys meet, Lake Mills senior Ben Dunkleberger earned conference titles in the 100 (:11.12), the long jump (22-1) and the triple jump (46-0¼).

Lodi had a triple winner in senior Tanner Maier (2:13.56 in the 800, 4:24.71 in the 1,600 and 10:16.31 in the 3,200), and a double winner in Robby Hatch (:14.66 in the 110 high hurdles and :38.51 in the 300 intermediate hurdles).

Southwest Wisconsin Conference

Platteville swept the boys and girls team titles, and Dodgeville/Mineral Point finished second in both meets.

Sophomore Jason Gleichauf won the 110 hurdles (:16.09) and high jump (5-10) for the Dodge-Point boys. Other winners were senior Gerrit Bakker in the 800 (2:03.01), Henry Keith in the 3,200 (10:18.11), and the 1,600 and 3,200 relay crews.

For the Dodge-Point girls, freshman Cloe Rule won the 100 hurdles (:17.65) and the 800 and 1,600 relay teams also won.

South Central Conference

Wisconsin Dells took third behind Mauston and Nekoosa in the girls race, and Nekoosa edged Wautoma for the boys team title.

In the girls meet, Wisconsin Dells’ Jenna Mace won the 100 (:13.03) and 400 (1:01.23) and was second in the 200 (:26.32) and long jump (16-3¾). In the boys meet, the Chiefs’ Cade Ravenscroft won the high jump (5-8).

Trailways Conference

The Deerfield boys finished second behind Oshkosh Lourdes, and Lourdes also won the girls team title. Junior Willis Manning won the 3,200 (10:10.54) and senior Nate Siewert won the 110 hurdles (:15.77). Pardeeville senior Ryan Lindert won the long jump (19-5 ½) and triple jump (41-9). Madison Country Day co-op senior Andrew Evans won the 400 (:51.68).

In the girls meet, Johnson Creek won the 800 and 1,600 relay titles and Country Day co-op senior Nicole Caceanova won the high jump (4-9).

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.