Try 3 months for $3

Wisconsin Badgers running backs Melvin Gordon (25) and Corey Clement (6) run off the field after Clement's fourth quarter touchdown against the Illinois Fighting Illini at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison, Wis., Saturday, Oct. 11, 2014. M.P. KING -- State Journal (Published on 10/12/2014) Running backs Melvin Gordon (25) and Corey Clement jog off the field following Clement's 72-yard touchdown run in the fourth quarter

Having already landed on the Maxwell Award watch list earlier this month, it was no surprise that University of Wisconsin running back Corey Clement was named to the Doak Walker Award preseason watch list Thursday.

The award, given annually to the nation’s top running back, is one the Badgers have taken home two of the past three seasons, and UW is the only school that has produced three different winners of the trophy.

Past Badgers to win the Doak Walker Award include Ron Dayne (1999), Montee Ball (2012) and Melvin Gordon (2014).

Clement backed up Gordon last year while rushing for 949 yards and 11 touchdowns. The two combined to set the single-season FBS record for rushing yards by teammates at 3,536, breaking the mark of 3,053 that Gordon and James White had compiled a year earlier.

In his first two seasons with UW, Clement has averaged 7.0 yards per carry.

He joins 69 players on the Doak Walker Award watch list, including seven other Big Ten running backs — Illinois’ Josh Ferguson, Indiana’s Jordan Howard, Iowa’s Jordan Canzeri, Northwestern’s Justin Jackson, Ohio State’s Ezekiel Elliott, Penn State’s Akeel Lynch and Rutgers’ Paul James.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name 10 semifinalists for the award on Nov. 18, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the three finalists, who will be announced Nov. 24.

The winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards show Dec. 10, live on ESPN.

Other Badgers named to preseason watch lists this summer include Vince Biegel (Bednarik, Lombardi, Nagurski), Michael Caputo (Bednarik, Nagurski, Thorpe), Alex Erickson (Biletnikoff), Dan Voltz (Outland, Rimington) and Rafael Gaglianone (Groza).


Jason Galloway is the Wisconsin Badgers football beat writer for the Wisconsin State Journal.