Try 1 month for 99¢
Chris Chelios
Former University of Wisconsin hockey player Chris Chelios won three Stanley Cups in his 26-year NHL career, including two with the Detroit Red Wings.

Chris Chelios, a four-time Olympian and 26-year NHL veteran who was a member of the 1983 NCAA men's hockey championship team, headlines the seven-member Class of 2011 for the University of Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame.

The class, which was announced Saturday prior to the football team's spring intrasquad game, will be inducted Sept. 2.

The class also includes an Olympic gold medalist swimmer (Carly Piper), two female sports pioneers (Sue Ela and Judith Sweet), an iconic football coach (Dave McClain), a co-captain of the men's soccer team that claimed the program's lone NCAA title (Scott Lamphear) and a two-time Big Ten Conference football scoring champ (Louis Holland).

Chelios played just two seasons for the Badgers before turning pro, amassing 22 goals and 75 assists while helping UW secure its fourth NCAA title.

He won three Stanley Cups -- with Montreal in 1987 and Detroit in 2002 and 2008 -- and was an 11-time NHL All-Star. Chelios played in four Olympics (1984, 1998, 2002 and 2006), serving as captain the last three times.

Piper was a 13-time Big Ten champion, claiming a program-best 10 individual titles -- including four-year sweeps in the 500- and 1,650-yard freestyles -- and three relay


A two-time Big Ten Swimmer of the Year, Piper earned 18 All-America honors. At the 2004 Olympics in Athens, Greece, she won a gold medal in the 800-meter freestyle relay with Natalie Coughlin, Kaitlin Sandeno and Dana Vollmer.

Sweet, a 1969 graduate of UW, was a trailblazer for women in leadership positions in college athletics. At San Diego in 1975, she became the first full-fledged female athletic director, and in 1991 she was elected as the NCAA's first female president.

Ela was a member of the Badgers' women's rowing team from 1972-75, winning a national title as part of the varsity eight boat.

In her 19 years as coach, she guided Wisconsin to 14 top-five national finishes, including the 1986 varsity eight championship. She stepped down in 1997 but returned in 2004 to lead UW to its first NCAA appearance in five years.

McClain coached the UW football team from 1978-85, dying suddenly of a heart attack on April 28, 1986. After inheriting a team that had one winning season in the previous 14 years, he led the Badgers to three bowl games and a 46-42-3 (.505) record.

In 1981, Wisconsin opened with a victory against No. 1 Michigan, the first over a top-ranked team in 19 years.

During his tenure, McClain coached seven All-Americans and four first-round NFL draft choices. The Dave McClain Athletic Facility, which houses the football team's indoor practice field, locker room and weight room, was opened in his honor in 1988.

Lamphear, one of just two All-Americans in UW men's soccer history, was a co-captain of the 1995  team that claimed the program's lone NCAA title.

A three-time All-Big Ten first-team and academic selection, Lamphear earned the 1996 Big Ten Medal of Honor.

Holland, a Heritage Era selection, was a three-time letterwinner in football (1961-63) and a two-time letterwinner in track.

He twice led the Big Ten in scoring in football, scoring a school-record 12 touchdowns in the Badgers' 1962 Big Ten championship season.