The University of Wisconsin men's hockey team is laying the groundwork for non-conference schedules that will reflect massive realignment in 2013-14.

Two new men's leagues -- the Big Ten and the National Collegiate Hockey conferences -- will go on line while the Western Collegiate Hockey Association and Hockey East Association will have different looks.

The Badgers will join Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State and Penn State in the Big Ten, playing 20 league games via home-and-home series.

UW coach Mike Eaves is already piecing together games to fill out the rest of the dates for 2013-14 and beyond. Here's a look at what's been done to the non-conference schedule so far:   

2013-14 -- UW has signed agreements with Colorado College, Lake Superior State and Northern Michigan for non-league series in Madison and one with Miami (Ohio) on the road. Details still must be worked out for a trip to the East Coast to play single games against Boston College and Boston University.

2014-15 -- UW has tentative agreements to host Boston University, Michigan Tech and North Dakota while traveling to Colorado for single games vs. CC and Denver. The Badgers are also considering an opportunity to play in an NCAA exempt tournament in Alaska.

2015-16 -- UW has tentative agreements to host a series with Denver, while playing at single games at BC and BU and a series at North Dakota.

2016-17 -- UW has tentative agreements to host series with BC and North Dakota while playing single games at CC and Denver.

2017-18 -- UW has a tentative agreement to play a series at North Dakota.



Subscribe to our BadgerBeat email!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.