Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
alert top story

11 Dane County students receive college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships

  • 0

Eleven high school seniors from Dane County were named college-sponsored National Merit Scholarship winners, with each receiving between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years toward their college education.

Three of the students attend school in the Madison School District, two attend Edgewood High School, and there is one from Madison Country Day School, Middleton High School, Monona Grove High School, Oregon High School, Stoughton High School and Waunakee High School.

The 11 students from Dane County were among more than 2,600 winners of the college-sponsored scholarship award from across the country.

The scholarship winners were selected from a pool of more than 15,000 finalists in the National Merit Scholarship competition and each were judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

Officials from each sponsor college selected scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. This year, 155 higher education institutions are providing awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Those institutions include 82 private and 73 public colleges and universities located in 42 states and the District of Columbia.

Scholars entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program when they took the 2020 preliminary SAT, which served as an initial screener for potential scholarship recipients. More than 15,000 finalists were designated across the country as the highest-scoring students in each state and represented less than 1% of the nation’s high school seniors.

Recipients of the corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships were named in April, recipients of the $2,500 National Merit Scholarships were named in May, and winners of the second round of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be named in July. About 7,500 finalists will have earned the “Merit Scholar” title and received a total of nearly $28 million in college scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Competition by the end of 2022.

Dane Co. honorees

Madison School District: Regan E. Banaszak; Sorin D. Caldararu; Thavida Johnston

Edgewood High School: Sarah Lauren Cook; Isaac M. Thelen

Madison Country Day School: Colin C. Young

Middleton High School: Harsha Chilakapati

Monona Grove High School: Daniel W. D. Hawker

Oregon High School: Sophia R. Davidson

Stoughton High School: Annaliese L. Skerpan

Waunakee High School: Thomas N. Troester


Want to see more like this?

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Badger Sports

Breaking News