Try 3 months for $3

Wisconsin's primary election is Tuesday, Aug. 9. The winners of the primary contests will go on to the Nov. 8 general election. 

In the Dane County area, there are primaries in four Assembly districts, all pitting Democrats against one another: Districts 43, 47, 78 and 80. The vote Aug. 9 in District 80 will be definitive, as there is no candidate from another party facing off against the Democrat in the November election. The winners in the other three districts face a member of another party, or an independent, in November.

Also at stake Tuesday are the Dane County district attorney and Dane County treasurer positions. Dane County District Attorney Ismael Ozanne and Assistant District Attorney Bob Jambois are facing off for DA, and three candidates are running for county treasurer. Because no candidate of another party and no independent seeks election to those offices, the Aug. 9 vote is final.

And though the race has not received much attention, Russ Feingold also faces a primary challenge Tuesday, from political newcomer Scott Harbach, a private detective from Kenosha who has strongly conservative, religious leanings. 

The Capital Times invited the candidates in the Dane County-area races to write columns making their cases to voters. We also made an endorsement in the district attorney race.

Our editorials and the candidates' columns are below. Click the link to read the item.


Dane Country district attorney: Ismael Ozanne



Dane County district attorney: Bob Jambois vs. Ismael Ozanne

Cap Times Opinion email signup

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Assembly District 43: Don Vruwink vs. Anissa M. Welch

Assembly District 80: Sondy Pope vs. Luke Joseph


Share your opinion on this topic by sending a letter to the editor to Include your full name, hometown and phone number. Your name and town will be published. The phone number is for verification purposes only. Please keep your letter to 250 words or less.